Skip Navigation
Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Coordination
Radiation Safety Division (RSD)
United States Department of Agriculture

Radiation Safety Division Information

Radiation Safety Division

The Radiation Safety Division is the operational office of the USDA radiation safety program. As a Department level office, it interacts with agencies through Permits that it issues to agency employees.

The Radiation Safety Division currently tracks Permit Holders who work in ARS, APHIS, FS, NRCS, FSIS, AMS, and OO. RSD works with these agencies in managing the Permit Holder’s program activities that involve the use of radioactive material and x-ray equipment.

The RSD periodically sends inspectors to the Permit Holder locations. The inspectors review Permit accuracy as well as radioactive material inventories, proper posting and signage, training status, and other requirements. For each inspection, a report is written and circulated to local management.

RSD also provides guidance and direction regarding radiological emergency preparedness programs through the USDA Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Coordination and through agency emergency response offices.

In addition to the specific objectives and goals listed here, RSD is available to assist any USDA employee with questions and concerns about the USDA radiation safety program.

 

Contact Information:

5601 Sunnyside Avenue
Beltsville, Maryland 20705
Telephone: 301-504-2440
Fax: 301-504-2450

 

After hours emergency contact:

USDA Operations Center at 202-720-5711 or 877-677-2369

 

People at Radiation Safety Division (6)

John.Jensen@dm.usda.gov
301-504-2441
202-657-9043 cell
Director

Daniel.Sharp@dm.usda.gov
301-504-2447
240-463-0430 cell
Health Physicist

James.Terry@dm.usda.gov
301-504-2446
240-417-8129 cell
Health Physicist

Katina.Jones@dm.usda.gov
301-504-2444
202-669-4966 cell
Health Physicist

Maureen.Davis@dm.usda.gov
301-504-2451
Management and Program Analyst

Leta.Cullinane@dm.usda.gov
301-504-2442
Management and Program Analyst